News Headlines     |     
Jan
21

Email

WORLD PARA CHAMPS KICK OFF
Monday January 21, 2019 - Email this article to a friend

GB Snowsport athletes are in action across the next two weeks. Who's competing for GB Snowsport?





The Championships take place in Kranjska Gora, Slovenia and Sella Nevea, Italy from today, Monday 21st January through to Friday 1st February.  

Paralympic gold medallists Kelly Gallagher (and guide Gary Smith) and Menna Fitzpatrick (and guide Jennifer Kehoe) head up the squad and will contest all the visually impaired disciplines. 

Sixteen-year-old Neil Simpson has had a breakthrough season, winning a Europa Cup and earning top five finishes at World Cup to qualify for his first World Championships in the technical disciplines.  

Simpson (and guide Jamie Robertson) will compete in the visually impaired slalom and giant slalom.  

PyeongChang Paralympian James Whitley scored a World Cup top five in Zagreb last week and he will contest all disciplines in the standing category.  

Kelly Gallagher and Gary Smith Kelly Gallagher and Gary Smith

























Neil Simpson and Jamie RobertsonNeil Simpson and Jamie Robertson





 




























James WhitleyJames Whitley
























WORLD PARA ALPINE CHAMPIONSHIPS SCHEDULE

Mon 21 January: Men's Giant Slalom (VI: Neil Simpson/Jamie Robertson; Standing: James Whitley)

Tue 22 January: Ladies' Giant Slalom (VI: Menna Fitzpatrick/Jennifer Kehoe, Kelly Gallagher/Gary Smith)

Wed 23 January: Men's Slalom (VI: Neil Simpson/Jamie Robertson; Standing: James Whitley)

Thu 24 January: Ladies' Giant Slalom (VI: Menna Fitzpatrick/Jennifer Kehoe, Kelly Gallagher/Gary Smith)

Tue 29 January: Men's Downhill (Standing: James Whitley); Women's Downhill (VI: Menna Fitzpatrick/Jennifer Kehoe, Kelly Gallagher/Gary Smith)

Thu 31 January: Men's Super Combined (Standing: James Whitley); Women's Downhill (VI: Menna Fitzpatrick/Jennifer Kehoe, Kelly Gallagher/Gary Smith)

Fri 1 January: Men's Super G (Standing: James Whitley); Women's Downhill (VI: Menna Fitzpatrick/Jennifer Kehoe, Kelly Gallagher/Gary Smith)  

For the Spirit of the Mountains - PlanetSKI: Number One for ski news

Related Articles

GB SKIERS TAKE ON THE WORLD (Friday August 16, 2019)
NOW ROLLER SKIING SET TO RISE IN CHINA (Friday August 16, 2019)
NEW ZEALAND KICKS OFF SNOWBOARD COMPETITION SEASON (Tuesday August 13, 2019)
MADI DROPPED BY SPONSOR (Tuesday August 13, 2019)
GB SKIER LUCKY TO BE ALIVE (Friday August 9, 2019)
THESNOWSPORT COMPETITION DETAILS ARE OUT (Monday August 5, 2019)


With thanks to our main sponsors...

Platinum partners

Bronze partners