News Headlines     |     


SEPTEMBER NEWS IN BRIEF

Extreme skier dies felling trees, FIS extends deal for snowmaking + Shaun White gets closer to skateboarding in Tokyo Olympics. ROLLING


EVEREST SKI ATTEMPT STARTS

Andrzej Bargiel is now training at Gorakshep, as he prepares to ski Everest without supplementary oxygen & without taking his skis off. ROLLING


RESPECTS PAID TO SPANISH SKIER

The body of former Spanish alpine skier Blanca Fernández Ochoa has been found after days of searches.


ROYAL MARINE VETERAN LEAVES ROWING MACHINE ON MONT BLANC

Bad weather caused him to leave it in a refuge but the French authorities are not impressed.


$750,000 IN DAMAGES AFTER SKIER COLLISION

A woman has been awarded the money after a skier smashed into her from behind on a narrow path in Vail. She needed to take out a private prosecution.


HELI-SKIING IN CANADA: SAFETY RISES

Off piste is dangerous. Using a helicopter to get to the wild stuff in Canada could be more so, but it's getting safer.


AUGUST NEWS IN BRIEF

New transfer from Lyon to Alpe d'Huez + Les2Alpes, GB winter athlete gets 4-year ban for doping + 3 dead in Swiss Alps plane crash. ROLLING...


DRUG RAIDS IN AUSTRALIAN SKI RESORTS

18 people were arrested after police raid bars & clubs in Thredbo, Perisher and Jindabyne.


5 DEAD, 150 INJURED IN MOUNTAIN STORM

The scale of a deadly storm near ski resorts in Poland and Slovakia is becoming clear as emergency crews liken it to a terror attack. UPDATED


LUCKY TO BE ALIVE

We have a first hand account from a snowboarder caught in a huge avalanche near the ski resort of Thredbo in Australia.


GONDOLA REPAIRS TO COST MILLIONS

The Sea To Sky gondola in Canada had its cable cut in a criminal act. Most of the 30 cabins plunged to the ground.


BRITISH SKI INSTRUCTOR JAILED FOR 10 YEARS

Matthew Williams brutally raped a woman last season in Australia and assaulted a man beating him unconscious. UPDATED




5 DEAD, 150 INJURED IN MOUNTAIN STORM

LUCKY TO BE ALIVE

GONDOLA REPAIRS TO COST MILLIONS

BRITISH SKI INSTRUCTOR JAILED FOR 10 YEARS

MATTERHORN - SHOULD IT BE CLOSED TO CLIMBERS?

NEW ATTEMPT TO SKI DOWN EVEREST

MOUNTAINS CRUMBLE & GLACIERS MELT IN SUMMER HEAT

CAIRNGORM FUNICULAR TO BE REPAIRED







AUSTRALIA: SKI RESORTS BATTLE DRUGS THREAT (Saturday July 27, 2019)
AVALANCHE: RESORT NOT TO BLAME FOR FATAL SLIDE (Sunday July 21, 2019)
ANTARCTICA: SAVING IT WITH ARTIFICIAL SNOW (Sunday July 21, 2019)
REACTION AS SKI CLUB GB ENDS ITS LEADING SERVICE (Sunday July 21, 2019)
PROTECT OUR WINTERS TARGETS EUROPE (Wednesday July 17, 2019)
ZERO TO HERO (Tuesday July 9, 2019)
THE BIGGEST EVER SKI SURVEY (Thursday July 4, 2019)
SKI RAGE DOCTOR SENTENCED TO JAIL (Wednesday July 3, 2019)
SUMMER SKIING KICKS OFF (Friday June 28, 2019)
REACTION AS ITALY GETS 2026 OLYMPICS (Thursday June 27, 2019)
DECISION DAY FOR 2026 WINTER OLYMPICS (Monday June 24, 2019)
ANGER AS CLIMBERS LAND PLANE ON MONT BLANC (Saturday June 22, 2019)
RUSSIAN SNOWBOARD CHAMPION SHOT DEAD (Monday June 17, 2019)
SNOWBOARDER STRIKES FOR WOMEN'S EQUALITY (Saturday June 15, 2019)
BLIND SKI CHAMPION & GUIDE DOG BARRED FROM SUPERMARKET (Tuesday June 11, 2019)
INVESTIGATION AFTER FATAL SWISS GONDOLA ACCIDENT (Sunday June 9, 2019)
MATTERHORN ACCIDENT - BRITON DIES IN FALL (Friday June 7, 2019)
BODIES SEEN IN SEARCH FOR MISSING CLIMBERS (Tuesday June 4, 2019)
EVEREST JAMS BLAMED FOR DEATHS (Friday May 31, 2019)
POW UK SET TO GROW (Thursday May 30, 2019)
BOY HIT WITH SKI POLE SUFFERS BRAIN INJURY (Sunday May 26, 2019)
INVESTIGATION AFTER CHAMONIX AVALANCHE DEATH (Friday May 24, 2019)
SNOW MORE STIGMA (Friday May 17, 2019)
SCHUMACHER'S STORY (Friday May 17, 2019)
EURO SKI PASS GOES ON SALE (Wednesday May 15, 2019)
INJURED SKI LEGEND BECOMES A FATHER (Saturday May 11, 2019)
MILLIONS LOST TO HOLIDAY FRAUD (Friday May 10, 2019)
SNOWPASS CARD (Tuesday May 7, 2019)
CONVICTION UPHELD ON DOCTOR OVER CHILD SKI ASSAULT (Tuesday May 7, 2019)
MARATHON MAN GETS SKI BOOT WORLD RECORD (Saturday May 4, 2019)
4 DEAD IN SWISS AVALANCHE (Wednesday May 1, 2019)
SKI TOURER DIES HELPING FELLOW SKIER (Tuesday April 30, 2019)
UNEXPLODED AVALANCHE BOMBS IN COLORADO! (Thursday April 25, 2019)
HELISKIERS DIE IN COULOIR FALL (Friday April 12, 2019)
GB SNOWBOARDER DIES IN CLIFF FALL (Wednesday April 10, 2019)
DOCTOR GUILTY OF CHILD SKI ASSAULT (Monday April 8, 2019)
POW UK TURNS TWO (Sunday April 7, 2019)
FRESH AVALANCHE WARNINGS (Wednesday March 27, 2019)
GB SNOWBOARDER DIES IN ANDORRA (Tuesday March 26, 2019)
COLLISION SKIER REFUSED APPEAL (Wednesday March 20, 2019)
PISTE COLLISION DEATH SPARKS DEBATE (Tuesday March 19, 2019)
POWDER LESSON ON ONE SKI (Sunday March 17, 2019)
TRIBUTE TO AVALANCHE VICTIMS (Friday March 15, 2019)
SURVIVOR TELLS OF FATAL AVALANCHE (Friday March 15, 2019)
SEASONAIRES AFTER BREXIT (Tuesday March 12, 2019)
OUTRAGE AT ALPS LITTER LOUTS (Friday March 8, 2019)
ALPS COACH CRASH SURVIVOR FRONTS BEAUTY CAMPAIGN (Wednesday March 6, 2019)
DO WE NEED PISTE POLICE? (Wednesday March 6, 2019)
AVALANCHE HITS I-70 IN COLORADO (Monday March 4, 2019)
TEENS IN DRAMATIC LIFT RESCUE (Sunday March 3, 2019)
HOW SAFE ARE THE PISTES? (Friday March 1, 2019)
IN PRAISE OF PISTEURS (Tuesday February 26, 2019)
TRIBUTES TO PISTEUR KILLED IN AVALANCHE (Friday February 22, 2019)
MOUNTAINS UNDER THE EARTH'S CRUST (Tuesday February 19, 2019)
UPHILL SKIING RECORD (Saturday February 16, 2019)
CHOPPER LIFT RESCUE IN CERVINIA (Wednesday February 13, 2019)
AVALANCHE VICTIMS IDENTIFIED (Thursday February 7, 2019)
AVALANCHE DANGER IN THE ALPS (Thursday January 31, 2019)
ARSON SUSPECTED IN COURCHEVEL FIRE (Wednesday January 30, 2019)
TRIBUTES TO SKI GUIDE WHO DIED IN ALPS AIR COLLISION (Wednesday January 30, 2019)
INVESTIGATION AFTER 2 DIE & DOZENS INJURED IN COURCHEVEL FIRE (Tuesday January 22, 2019)
FATAL AVALANCHE ACCIDENTALLY TRIGGERED (Saturday January 19, 2019)
THE SKI CHALET 2019 (Wednesday January 16, 2019)
WHAT A RESCUE! (Sunday January 13, 2019)
AVALANCHE DEATHS (Tuesday January 8, 2019)
WEARING HELMETS IN SNOW SPORTS (Monday January 7, 2019)
#WINTERISCOMING (Saturday January 5, 2019)
SCHUMACHER FAMILY CELEBRATES HIS 50TH BIRTHDAY (Friday January 4, 2019)
140 PEOPLE EVACUATED FROM USA CHAIRLIFT (Wednesday January 2, 2019)
DECEMBER NEWS IN BRIEF (Sunday December 30, 2018)
‘MIRACLE’ AS BOY SURVIVES 50 MINUTES UNDER AVALANCHE (Saturday December 29, 2018)
DECEMBER SKIING SECRETS (Wednesday December 26, 2018)
XMAS GIFT (WISH) LIST (Tuesday December 25, 2018)
HOW GB TOOK ON THE WORLD (Monday December 17, 2018)
SNOWBALL BAN ENDED BY 9-YEAR OLD (Wednesday December 12, 2018)
NOVEMBER NEWS IN BRIEF (Friday November 30, 2018)
INVESTIGATION INTO SKI INSURER (Thursday November 22, 2018)
INVESTIGATION AS CABLES CUT ON ANDORRA SKI LIFTS (Tuesday November 13, 2018)
REINVENTING THE SKI HOLIDAY (Tuesday November 6, 2018)
BANKS URGED: BE COOL ON CLIMATE CHANGE (Monday November 5, 2018)
ELLIE SOUTTER FOUNDATION AWARDS FIRST GRANT (Friday November 2, 2018)

With thanks to our main sponsors...

Platinum partners

Bronze partners