GB Freestyle, Freeski & Snowboard Squads Unveiled

They will be competing across six disciplines in the 2021/22 season and include  69 athletes, with 6 newcomers.

  • 19

The squads, which feature six athletes selected to represent the nation for the first time, will look to build on an outstanding 2020/21 season for British Freestyle, Freeski and Snowboard athletes.

Last season saw a number of exceptional results:

  • Charlotte Bankes’ Gold medal finish at the Snowboard Cross World Championships
  • Silver medals for Izzy Atkin at the X Games and for Kirsty Muir at the World Cup in Aspen
  • Two Golds and a Silver for Mia Brookes in Europa Cup contests
  • Ollie Davies’ 4th placed finish at the World Championship Skicross in Idrefjall
  • Zoe Atkin’s World Cup silver and World Championship bronze medals
  • Three top-10 finishes for James Woods at the X Games in Aspen and the Aspen World Championships.

What a year for GB skiing and snowboarding: season review

British skiers and snowboarders exceed all goals

Zoe Atkin after her World Championships bronze in Aspen – photo GB Snowsport

“Never before has Britain had such a competitive field of athletes to select from,” said the GB Snowsport Head Coach, Pat Sharples.

“Despite the challenges faced by all of our athletes last season, they showed that they are capable of putting down world-leading results in some of the toughest competition environments around.

“Those results, and the squads we’re delighted to announce today, bode well for what promises to be a landmark year for snowsport.”


Freestyle. Image © PlanetSKI.

Charlotte Bankes, Britain’s first Snowboarding World Champion, said: “I can’t wait to get back out into competition this season as part of a group of incredible athletes representing Great Britain in the snowsports disciplines.

“Last year was obviously a real high point for me personally with great results for all of GB Snowsport, but neither I nor any of the team plan to take our foot off the gas at this stage.

“There’s some great talent across all of the squads with the best support around us we could hope for, and I’m sure we’ll be driving each other on towards our goals.”

Gus Kenworthy, selected in the Freeski A Squad, said: “It is always a privilege to be selected to represent your country, and I’m really looking forward to competing alongside some incredible athletes in all our Freestyle disciplines this year.”

“With the Beijing Games coming up, we’re all super-focused on having the best seasons we can, and the support around the Freestyle squads means we’ve got a great chance to improve on what we achieved last season.”

Gus Kenworthy, GB Park & Pipe

Gus Kenworthy. Image c/o GB Snowsport

Moguls – World Cup Squad:

Male: Will Feneley, Thomas Gerken Schofield, Matéo Jeannesson

Female: Leonie Gerken Schofield, Makayla Gerken Schofield, Skyler Nunn

Aerials – World Cup Squad:

Lloyd Wallace

Ski Cross – World Cup Squad:

Male: Oliver Davies

Female: Emma Peters

Ski Cross – Europa Cup Squad:

Male: Gregory Baillie, Nicholas Bingham, Richard Goldsworthy, Sebastian Ison, Owen Johns, Scott Johns, Patrick Young

Female: Faith Davie, Alannah Lawrie, Claire Winthrop, Zoe Winthrop

Snowboard Cross – World Cup Squad:

Male: Huw Nightingale

Female: Charlotte Bankes, Maisie Potter

Snowboard Cross – Europa Cup Squad:

Male: Brandon Cain, Bryn Nicholas, Kyle Wise

Freestyle Snowboard – A Squad:

Male: Gabe Adams, Fin Bremner, Billy Cockrell, Glen Ironside*, Matt McCormick, Jamie Nicholls, Ethan Smith*

Female: Mia Brookes, Katie Ormerod

Freestyle Snowboard – B Squad:

Male: Koby Cook, Leon Drynan, Lenny Fenning, Kai Hamaini*, Teiva Hamaini*, Hayden Harvey-Smith, Max Jorge, Logan King, Charlie Lane, Lewis Moore, Liam Tynan, Siddhartha Ullah (Pipe)*

Female: Amber Fennell*

Freeski – A Squad:

Male: Tyler Harding, Gus Kenworthy (Pipe), Chris McCormick, James Woods

Female: Isabel Atkin, Zoe Atkin (Pipe), Connie Brogden (Pipe), Kirsty Muir, Madi Rowlands, Katie Summerhayes

Freeski – B Squad:

Male: Harris Booth, Rylan Evans, Mason Ferebee, Sam Gaskin (Pipe) Tom Greenway, Felix Klein, Jasper Klein, James Pouch, Justin Taylor-Tipton, Sam Ward (Pipe), Harry Wright

*denotes newly selected athletes

GB Snowsport. Image © GBSnowsport

GB Snowsport. Image © GBSnowsport

  • 19